Asia-oceania HUPO: Past, Present, and Future

Yasushi Ishihama, Yu Ju Chen, Je Yoel Cho, Max Ching Ming Chung, Stuart J. Cordwell, Teck Yew Low, Terence Chuen Wai Poon, Ho Jeong Kwon

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

1 Citation (Scopus)


The Asia-Oceania Human Proteome Organization (AOHUPO; was officially founded on June 7, 2001, by Richard J. Simpson (Australia), Akira Tsugita (Japan), and Young-Ki Paik (Korea) and launched on October 1-4, 2001, at the second scientific meeting of the International Proteomics Conference held in Canberra, Australia. Inaugural council members of the AOHUPO elected were Richard J. Simpson (Australia, president), Qi-Chang Xia (China), Kazuyuki Nakamura (Japan), Akira Tsugita (Japan, VIce President), Young-Ki Paik (Korea, secretary general), Mike Hubbard (New Zealand), Max C. M. Chung (Singapore), Shui-Tien Chen (Taiwan), and John Bennett (Philippines). The first AOHUPO conference was held on March 26-27, 2002, at the Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea, conjointly with the second Annual Meeting of KHUPO. Since then, biennial AOHUPO conferences have been held in Taipei (2004), Singapore (2006), Cairns (2008), Hyderabad (2010), Beijing (2012), Bangkok (2014), Sun Moon Lake (2016), and Osaka (2018). The 10th AOHUPO conference is scheduled to be held in Busan on June 30 to July 2, 2021, to celebrate our 20th anniversary.

Original languageEnglish
Article numbere100048
JournalMolecular and Cellular Proteomics
Publication statusPublished - 2021

Bibliographical note

Publisher Copyright:
© 2021 THE AUTHORS. Published by Elsevier Inc on behalf of American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.

All Science Journal Classification (ASJC) codes

  • Analytical Chemistry
  • Biochemistry
  • Molecular Biology


Dive into the research topics of 'Asia-oceania HUPO: Past, Present, and Future'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this