Hypertriton Production in p -Pb Collisions at sNN =5.02 TeV

(A Large Ion Collider Experiment Collaboration)

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

1 Citation (Scopus)


The study of nuclei and antinuclei production has proven to be a powerful tool to investigate the formation mechanism of loosely bound states in high-energy hadronic collisions. The first measurement of the production of HΛ3 in p-Pb collisions at sNN=5.02 TeV is presented in this Letter. Its production yield measured in the rapidity interval -1<y<0 for the 40% highest-multiplicity p-Pb collisions is dN/dy=[6.3±1.8(stat)±1.2(syst)]×10-7. The measurement is compared with the expectations of statistical hadronization and coalescence models, which describe the nucleosynthesis in hadronic collisions. These two models predict very different yields of the hypertriton in charged particle multiplicity environments relevant to small collision systems such as p-Pb, and therefore the measurement of dN/dy is crucial to distinguish between them. The precision of this measurement leads to the exclusion with a significance larger than 6.9σ of some configurations of the statistical hadronization model, thus constraining the theory behind the production of loosely bound states at hadron colliders.

Original languageEnglish
Article number252003
JournalPhysical review letters
Issue number25
Publication statusPublished - 2022 Jun 24

Bibliographical note

Funding Information:
The ALICE Collaboration would like to thank all its engineers and technicians for their invaluable contributions to the construction of the experiment and the CERN accelerator teams for the outstanding performance of the LHC complex. The ALICE Collaboration gratefully acknowledges the resources and support provided by all Grid centers and the Worldwide LHC Computing Grid (WLCG) Collaboration. The ALICE Collaboration acknowledges the following funding agencies for their support in building and running the ALICE detector: the A. I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute) Foundation (ANSL), the State Committee of Science and World Federation of Scientists (WFS), Armenia; the Austrian Academy of Sciences, the Austrian Science Fund (FWF): [M 2467-N36] and Nationalstiftung für Forschung, Technologie und Entwicklung, Austria; the Ministry of Communications and High Technologies, the National Nuclear Research Center, Azerbaijan; Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Científico e Tecnológico (CNPq), Financiadora de Estudos e Projetos (Finep), Fundação de Amparo à Pesquisa do Estado de São Paulo (FAPESP) and Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS), Brazil; the Ministry of Education of China (MOEC), the Ministry of Science & Technology of China (MSTC) and the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC), China; the Ministry of Science and Education and Croatian Science Foundation, Croatia; Centro de Aplicaciones Tecnológicas y Desarrollo Nuclear (CEADEN), Cubaenergía, Cuba; the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports of the Czech Republic, Czech Republic; the Danish Council for Independent Research | Natural Sciences, the VILLUM FONDEN and Danish National Research Foundation (DNRF), Denmark; the Helsinki Institute of Physics (HIP), Finland; Commissariat à l’Energie Atomique (CEA) and Institut National de Physique Nucléaire et de Physique des Particules (IN2P3) and Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), France; Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) and GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung GmbH, Germany; General Secretariat for Research and Technology, Ministry of Education, Research and Religions, Greece; National Research, Development and Innovation Office, Hungary; the Department of Atomic Energy, Government of India (DAE), Department of Science and Technology, Government of India (DST), University Grants Commission, Government of India (UGC), and Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), India; the Indonesian Institute of Science, Indonesia; Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare (INFN), Italy; the Institute for Innovative Science and Technology, the Nagasaki Institute of Applied Science (IIST), the Japanese Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science, and Technology (MEXT), and the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) KAKENHI, Japan; Consejo Nacional de Ciencia (CONACYT) y Tecnología, through Fondo de Cooperación Internacional en Ciencia y Tecnología (FONCICYT) and Dirección General de Asuntos del Personal Academico (DGAPA), Mexico; Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek (NWO), Netherlands; the Research Council of Norway, Norway; Commission on Science and Technology for Sustainable Development in the South (COMSATS), Pakistan; Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú, Peru; the Ministry of Education and Science, National Science Centre and WUT ID-UB, Poland; the Korea Institute of Science and Technology Information and the National Research Foundation of Korea (NRF), Republic of Korea; the Ministry of Education and Scientific Research, the Institute of Atomic Physics and Ministry of Research and Innovation and Institute of Atomic Physics, Romania; the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (JINR), Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation, National Research Centre Kurchatov Institute, the Russian Science Foundation, and Russian Foundation for Basic Research, Russia; Ministry of Education, Science, Research and Sport of the Slovak Republic, Slovakia; the National Research Foundation of South Africa, South Africa; Swedish Research Council (VR) and Knut & Alice Wallenberg Foundation (KAW), Sweden; the European Organization for Nuclear Research, Switzerland; the Suranaree University of Technology (SUT), National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSDTA) and Office of the Higher Education Commission under the NRU project of Thailand, Thailand; the Turkish Energy, Nuclear and Mineral Research Agency (TENMAK), Turkey; the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Ukraine; Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC), United Kingdom; the National Science Foundation of the United States of America (NSF) and the United States Department of Energy, Office of Nuclear Physics (DOE NP), United States of America.

Publisher Copyright:
© 2022 CERN.

All Science Journal Classification (ASJC) codes

  • Physics and Astronomy(all)


Dive into the research topics of 'Hypertriton Production in p -Pb Collisions at sNN =5.02 TeV'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this